If you haven’t heard of Love Languages yet, now is the time. 

Dr. Gary Chapman has created the concept of Love Languages and has since published his book that has since become a bestseller and recommended gift to many. 

What is your Love Language?

This quiz will teach you the 5 love languages and which one relates to you the most. 

Over time, your love language may change or sway. This is normal. You change over time due to new situations, experiences, and values – your love language may change along with you. Try taking this quiz once a year and see how it has changed for you (or maybe it hasn’t). Either way, it’s always good to check in with yourself to see where life has taken you. 

The 5 Love Languages 

  • Words of Affirmation: The use of words to affirm others 
  • Gifts: The act of receiving gifts 
  • Quality Time: The act of undivided attention
  • Physical Touch: The use of appropriate and consensual touch 
  • Acts of Service: The concept that actions speak louder than words

Do you know your partner’s love language? 

If you’ve taken the quiz, you may already know your love language in the way you like to receive your love – but do you know how you give your love? For most people, this may be an unconscious act; meaning you give your love subconsciously without much thought into how your partner will receive it. You always have good intentions when showing your love, but that may not be how your partner prefers to be loved. 

Love Languages work in both ways; you may know you receive love the best with one love language (e.g. touch, gifts, etc.), but that does not mean that you give your love the same way. 

If you are in a relationship, it is crucial to know your partner’s and your own love language. 

For example, you may feel the most loved when you are given a gift, but that does not mean that your partner feels the same way. You may give your love through acts of service, but your partner may receive love best through quality time. This is why it is beneficial to know your own and any partner(s) love language that you have. 

Many couples never have the conversation on how they interchangeably give and receive their love with their partner. [Tip: Go have this conversation!] 

Once this is learned, it is best to put it into practice. 

Here are some practical examples on how to incorporate your partner’s love language into your relationship:

  • Words of Affirmation: leave handwritten notes for your partner
  • Gifts: send your partner flowers or lunch while they’re at work
  • Quality Time: take a weekend trip together (phones off & put away!)
  • Physical Touch: give your partner a massage or go dancing together 
  • Acts of Service: help out by cleaning the house, washing their car, or running errands for them 

Romance Awareness Month is not only for those in relationships!

Traditionally, your love language is how you best feel loved by your partner. We are wanting to rediscover that concept and reinvent the love languages to reflect not just the relationship that you have with your partner, but also the one you have with yourself.

Being single is the best time to learn how to love yourself more effectively. 

Take a look at our list below of examples on how to use the Love Languages to love yourself!

Ways to Love Yourself using the 5 Love Languages 

  • Words of Affirmation: write down all the ways that you are GREAT (e.g., your accomplishments, your positive qualities, what makes you unique)
  • Gifts: treat yo’self (take yourself out to eat, buy yourself something nice, or maybe both!)
  • Quality Time: spend time alone with yourself (this may be difficult for extroverts, but it’s worth it!)
  • Physical Touch: learn your body more (do some yoga or masturbate)
  • Acts of Service: do activities that bring you joy (dog walk, read a book, go kayaking)

Even if you only do one of these, it is always best to practice self-love continuously, all year long. 

What is your favorite way to give or receive love? Let us know in the comments!